Walk With Him Wednesday ~Part 1

Every Wednesday, we Walk with Him, posting a spiritual practice that draws us nearer to His heart. Today it is… Words God Has Laid On Your Heart to Share.

WrestlingPrayer

I love the book ‘Wrestling Prayer’ by Eric and Leslie Ludy. I picked it up the other day to read it for the second time…I found them in the first chapter crying out to God in desperation after the experience of losing a baby through a miscarriage…

“God!” Leslie and I cried. “What must we do? What can we do?”
“Pray!” was the soft yet firm response from our King.
“We do pray!” we answered.
“That’s not prayer,” God seemed to say, “that’s spiritual-sounding chitter chatter.”

Of course, this is the foundation of their whole book on how to pray valiantly and victoriously. But as I read these words, I stopped and asked Father, “What should I do?” and the word He softly spoke to me was ‘Stand’.

There is such a massive move of deception happening, and we have been warned by Jesus and the disciples that this would come to pass…

And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you. Matthew 24:4

Let no man deceive you with vain words: for because of these things cometh the wrath of God upon the children of disobedience. Be not ye therefore partakers with them. For ye were sometimes darkness, but now are ye light in the Lord: walk as children of light: (For the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness and righteousness and truth;) Proving what is acceptable unto the Lord. And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them. Ephesians 5:6-11

I see such deception happening all around me, the watered-down gospel that has lost its power. Sin rampant in the churches, because pastors are preaching what they call a “non-threatening” gospel, the “just come as you are, but then you don’t even have to change” gospel. What happened to “Be ye Holy as I am Holy” 1 Peter 1:16, or “…being transformed by the renewing of your mind”? Romans 12:2

But this is not my point here…the word I want to talk about is STAND. And it is our answer to what to do in the oncoming rush of deception all around us.

For the great day of his wrath is come; and who shall be able to stand? Revelation 6:17

Watch ye therefore, and pray always, that ye may be accounted worthy to escape all these things that shall come to pass, and to stand before the Son of man. Luke 21:36

When I asked this question to God, “What should I do?”, I was confronted by someone I love, who confesses to be a Christian, but is living in sin and rationalizing the sin. His Christian friends do not reprove him for living this way, but I do, and I will not accept it. He is angry with me and bitter and resentful, because I do not accept him just as he is. And in turn I am persecuted…and the answer to my question is undeniable…STAND!

I have a lot to say about this beautiful word that we are commanded to do. As I got out my 1828 Webster’s Dictionary and the Concordance this word came to life. I will share my findings in my next post and in the meantime anyone who has not read the Ludy’s book, “Wrestling Prayer” and would like one, let me know and I will send one to you.

