a study on the word ~stand~part 2

Reading “Mornings With Tozer” today confirmed what I wrote yesterday, so I thought I would add it here as a side note:

Christ As He Really Is…One like unto the Son of man…out of His mouth went a two-edged sword. Revelation 1:13, 16

“The invitational element of the Christian message has been pressed far out of proportion in the total scriptural scene. Christ with His lantern, his apologetic stance and His weak pleading face has taken the place of the true son of man whom John saw – His eyes as a flame of fire, His feet like burnished brass and His voice as the sound of many waters.

Only the Holy Spirit can reveal our Lord as He really is, and He does not paint in oils. He manifests Christ to the human spirit, not to our physical eyes.”

Wow! Here we see the power of Christ…Will we be able to STAND before the Son of man?
The word “stand” in Strong’s Concordance means to abide, appoint, bring, continue, covenant, establish, hold up, lay, present, set (up), stanch, stand (by, forth, still, up).

Look at all these beautiful words…I want to embrace each one as the Holy Spirit reveals to us what it means to STAND

~ABIDE~

What comes to mind?

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in Me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in Me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without Me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in Me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned. If ye abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be My disciples. As the Father hath loved Me, so have I loved you: continue ye in My love. If ye keep My commandments, ye shall abide in My love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in His love. John 15:4-10

Is this not the very most important thing for a believer? We cannot stand without abiding in Christ, focusing on Him, making Him our #1 priority in life, seeking Him first and yes…does it not say keeping His commandments, as He kept His Father’s commandments? Are they not one and the same? Jesus came to fulfill the law and we have the law written upon our hearts, this does not mean that there is no law, and there is only grace, as some may espouse. It means that Jesus is the law, the very Word of Yahweh the Father; He is the great I AM.

If ye love me, keep my commandments. John 14:15

Here is the patience of the saints: here are they that keep the commandments of God, and the faith of Jesus. Revelation 14:12

And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last. Blessed are they that do his commandments that they may have right to the tree of life, and may enter in through the gates into the city. Revelation 22:12-14

So, to STAND means to abide in Christ, to love Him and keep His commandments.

Love Him as He really is…

Photo by Caleb

