a study on the word ~stand~ part 3

~APPOINT~

There are very few places in the New Testament where this word is found . Looking in the 1828 Webster’s I was amazed to find this…

To point or aim, to sharpen, to fasten as with points or nails.

A whole new thought world opened up to me, starting with the nails in His hands…on the cross…

To one of my favorite scriptures…to point or aim…

Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate. Psalms 127:3-5

Are we not His children …are we not to go forth as arrows for our Mighty King?
Is this what it means to STAND?

I’ve always thought of this scripture for my husband and our children that they would be arrows going out speaking with the enemy at the gate, but we are also arrows of our heavenly Father!

Webster’s goes on to define…

To fix; to settle ; to establish; to make fast… and this calls to mind…

But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, establish, strengthen, settle you. To him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen. 1 Peter 5:10-11

WOW! This is our calling…this is what it means to STAND…through our suffering …He will make us perfect, establish us, strengthen us , settle us…we are appointed to this for His glory.

One other word of wisdom about the word ~appoint ~

And there was also a strife among them, which of them should be accounted the greatest. And he said unto them, The kings of the Gentiles exercise lordship over them; and they that exercise authority upon them are called benefactors. But he that is greatest among you, let him be as the younger; and he that is chief, as he that doth serve. For whether is greater, he that sitteth at meat, or he that serveth? is not he that sitteth at meat? but I am among you as he that serveth. Ye are they which have continued with me in my temptations. And I appoint unto you a kingdom, as my Father hath appointed unto me; That ye may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom, and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel. Luke 22:24-30

A kingdom is appointed unto whom?

Unto him that serves and to them which have continued with Jesus…as in my first post…

Here is the patience of the saints: here are they that keep the commandments of God, and the faith of Jesus. Revelation 14:12

To STAND means to be a servant in the likeness of Christ.

Photo by Caleb

