a study on the word ~stand~ part 5

~CONTINUE~

As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: ‘continue’ ye in my love. If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. John 15:9-14

Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye ‘continue’ in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. John 8:31-32

To STAND means to continue in Christ’s love and in His word. And the promise, if we keep His commandments and abide in His love? That the truth will make us free and that our joy will be full.

I stand in awe…

Painting by Carl Heinrich Bloch – Sermon on the Mount

