a study on the word ~stand~ part 6 …continued

~COVENANT~

God remembers His covenant…and as the offspring of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, the Israelites were not forgotten. He did marvelous miracles in their behalf because of His covenant which STANDS…

And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, I am the LORD: And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name YHWH was I not known to them. And I have also established my covenant with them, to give them the land of Canaan, the land of their pilgrimage, wherein they were strangers. And I have also heard the groaning of the children of Israel, whom the Egyptians keep in bondage; and I have remembered my covenant. Wherefore say unto the children of Israel, I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will rid you out of their bondage, and I will redeem you with a stretched out arm, and with great judgments: And I will take you to me for a people, and I will be to you a God: and ye shall know that I am the LORD your God, which bringeth you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. And I will bring you in unto the land, concerning the which I did swear to give it to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob; and I will give it you for an heritage: I am the LORD. Exodus 6:2-8

God brought the Isrealites out of bondage by His servant Moses and gave them a book of the covenant written on tables of stone…The Ten Commandments.

And he took the book of the covenant, and read in the audience of the people: and they said, All that the LORD hath said will we do, and be obedient. And Moses took the blood, and sprinkled it on the people, and said, Behold the blood of the covenant, which the LORD hath made with you concerning all these words. Exodus 24:7-8

Again we see a shadow of things to come for Jesus is the bread of life …the Word… and His blood cleanses us from our sins…

And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you. Luke 22:19-20

Luke 22:20
Most critics now maintain that the word here rendered “testament” should be rendered covenant, not only here but wherever else it occurs in the New Testament…
~Jamieson, Fausset, and Brown Commentary

There is so much more that can be said for this incredible word covenant, but summarizing what we know…

STAND means holding fast to the covenant that our Father has given us, agreeing with Him that His only begotten Son shed His blood for us that we could have eternal life…it is taking hold of that newness of life, putting off the old life and its sin…it is being holy as He is holy…it is life…real…true…honest life.

Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant, Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. Hebrews 13:20-21

