a study on the word ~stand~ part 11

~SET UP~

The first time the words SET UP are mentioned in the Bible is in Genesis where Jacob dreams of a ladder and angels are ascending and descending it…

And he dreamed, and behold a ladder SET UP on the earth, and the top of it reached to heaven: and behold the angels of God ascending and descending on it. And, behold, the LORD stood above it, and said, I am the LORD God of Abraham thy father, and the God of Isaac: the land whereon thou liest, to thee will I give it, and to thy seed; And thy seed shall be as the dust of the earth, and thou shalt spread abroad to the west, and to the east, and to the north, and to the south: and in thee and in thy seed shall all the families of the earth be blessed. And, behold, I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest, and will bring thee again into this land; for I will not leave thee, until I have done that which I have spoken to thee of. Genesis 28:12-15

William Blake: Jacob’s Ladder (1800)

Notice once again that God is confirming His covenant . I read someone’s opinion that the ladder represents Jesus that He meets us wherever we are on our journey, but we have to climb, not just walk on flat ground… an interesting thought.

The other two scriptures that are relevant to this study concern our Great Shepherd, the righteous Branch, the King of Kings who is SET UP to be our Shepherd who reigns in righteous judgment and justice…

And I will SET UP one shepherd over them, and he shall feed them, even my servant David; he shall feed them, and he shall be their shepherd. Ezekiel 34:23

And I will SET UP shepherds over them which shall feed them: and they shall fear no more, nor be dismayed, neither shall they be lacking, saith the LORD. Behold, the days come, saith the LORD, that I will raise unto David a righteous Branch, and a King shall reign and prosper, and shall execute judgment and justice in the earth. Jeremiah 23:4-5

To STAND is to acknowledge that Almighty God has SET UP his Son to be mediator between God and man and that as our Great Shepherd He will care for us and reign over us in righteousness.

