a study on the word ~stand~ conclusion

Pilgrim’s Progress is one of my favorite books…a friend of mine sent this to me knowing that I was doing a study on the word STAND, so I want to include her addition to this study …

“I was looking over Pilgrim’s Progress this afternoon and came across Christian in the Valley of Humiliation facing Appollyon . . .

It says that, “Christian began to be afraid and to wonder whether to go back or to STAND his ground, but he realized that he had no armor for his back, and should he turn his back he might give the creature a greater advantage making it easier for the creature to pierce him with darts. Therefore he resolved to take a chance and STAND his ground. ‘For,’ he thought, ‘if I had no more in mind than the saving of my life, it would be the best way to STAND.’”

The footnote says, “Bunyan saw here the importance of STANDING against the devil and not running away. When he was first arrested, Bunyan could have avoided prosecution, but he chose to STAND true to the Lord.”

To me it was an interesting observation . . . that we have no armor for our backs . . . and therefore we must not turn our backs giving the enemy great advantage, but rather we must STAND!”

Shortly after sending this wonderful insight, she sent this…

“Looks like our backs are covered! Maybe not by armor, but by the LORD HIMSELF!
“You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.” Psalm 139:5

This study has been a real eye opener to me and consequently an answer to prayer, since I have prayed for Yahweh to open my eyes that I may see His truths. I hope that whoever reads this study will be blessed by the words herein, and that you will hold fast to the Word of God and be worthy to STAND at the coming of our glorious Savior.

“STAND fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” Galatians 5:1

“Watch ye, STAND fast in the faith, quit you like men, be strong.” 1 Corinthians 16:13

“Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withSTAND in the evil day, and having done all, to STAND. STAND therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;” Ephesians 6:13-18

