Thankfulness~1000 Gifts

345 I am thankful for all the ways that our heavenly Father speaks to us…
346 For the Holy Spirit that teaches us all things…

I am not a Catholic, but at one point in my walk with Christ, He used a Catholic Church to bring me into a closer walk with Him. It was back in 1977, and I had first met Jesus in 1975. In a back slidden state a friend of mine asked me if I would like to go to church with her on Good Friday and I said, “Yes.”

Like Christian in Pilgrim’s Progress with a huge burden on his back, I trudged with the weight of guilt and sin over the bridge and across the river with my friend to St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Annapolis, Maryland.

We sat in one of the pews and the priest began to talk about the Stations of the Cross. All around the room were painted reliefs depicting the Passion of Christ, fourteen of them, and the priest talked about each one.

From Wikipedia: The Stations themselves are usually a series of 14 pictures or sculptures depicting the following scenes:

1. Jesus is condemned to death
2. Jesus is given his cross
3. Jesus falls the first time
4. Jesus meets His Mother
5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
7. Jesus falls the second time
8. Jesus meets the daughters of Jerusalem
9. Jesus falls the third time
10. Jesus is stripped of His garments
11. Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
12. Jesus dies on the cross
13. Jesus’ body is removed from the cross (Deposition or Lamentation)
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb and covered in incense.

Here is a close up look for those of you who have never seen one of these…this represents #12. I think in the days when people couldn’t read these were visual depictions of the gospel.

I sat there quietly taking it all in. At the end of the service, we lingered awhile in the large room that was the entryway of the beautiful old church. My friend was talking to some women she knew. I walked over to a large wooden cross and as I stood there I felt as if I was transported to Calvary. In my thoughts I was on my face before the crucifixion, before Christ who died for me… I repented for my sins. When I walked out of that church I no longer was carrying a burden. When I walked out of that church I began my journey anew. I still had a long, long way to go, but true to His word the Holy Spirit would teach me all things.

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.” John 14:26

I had to leave all of the old life behind me…

He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.” Psalms 40:2-3

347 Forgiveness
348 A new life

349 I love the book Pilgrim’s Progress and I have many different versions, but there is a new one out and the artist who painted the beautiful illustrations is from Oklahoma.

To see more about the artist Michael Wimmer click here.

350 Thank you Sage and Tera for the Cafe latte…I love you both more than I can say!

