The Great Deeps of God

If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. James 1:5

I cried out for wisdom

O ye simple, understand wisdom: and, ye fools, be ye of an understanding heart. Proverbs 8:5

I longed to understand

I prayed long and my prayer was answered

The great I AM…He speaks gently ever so softly, slowly at first and then as you begin to hear, His wisdom comes flowing over as a river of life giving you strength and peace and understanding.

His wisdom has trickled into my life and as I grew from fear and anxiety, to trust and peace, the trickle grew as well… into an overflowing river…


A long time ago when my first child was an infant…Papa would take us out sailing. I had never gone sailing before, so to me this was stepping out into uncharted waters. Carefully I stepped into the boat with baby in arms and trusted that Papa would get us out and back safely. I remember him sitting at the tiller, so peaceful and confident no matter what storms or winds or choppy water. You could always look into his deep blue eyes and be assured that everything was fine. He was in control, he knew what he was about and he could handle every situation.

And so it is, my friends, with our Savior. He says to us, “Come, follow me, I will take you out into the storm, this is where you live the life I have for you. This is where you will grow, this is where I will make you strong. I am in control, trust Me.”

He is in control, He knows what He is about and He can handle every situation. Furthermore, He has promised to never leave us, or forsake us.

…”for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” Hebrews 13:5-6

Safe Harbor by Paul Lindquist

I have been tied up in the safe harbor. And now it is time to go out into the ocean…to launch out in the deep…

There is no going back…my peace is in the boat with the great Captain…

I don’t know what storms lie ahead, but I need to keep my eyes on Him and trust…

My own peace I give to you.” John 14: 27

“Two painters each painted a picture to illustrate his conception of rest. The first chose for his scene a still, lone lake among the far-off mountains.

Lake and Mountain by Andrew Hartmann

The second threw on his canvas a thundering waterfall, with a fragile birch tree bending over the foam, and at the fork of the branch, almost wet with the cataracts spray, sat a robin on its nest.
The first was only stagnation, the last was rest.
Christ’s life outwardly was one of the most troubled lives that ever lived; tempest and tumult, the waves breaking over it all the time until the worn body was laid in the grave. But the inner life was a sea of glass. The great calm was always there.
At any moment you might have gone to Him and found rest. And even when the human bloodhounds were dragging Him in the streets of Jerusalem, He turned to His disciples and offered them, as His legacy, “My peace.”
Rest is not a hallowed feeling that comes over as us as in church, it is the repose of a heart set deep in God.”~ Drummond

“Dipper by the Waterfall” by Robert Bateman

An interesting note from the artist…

“I put this dipper into this picture because dippers are almost the spirit of little woodland rivers and streams. They are completely at home in, around and under the waterfalls. They dash into areas where one would expect them to be swept to their deaths in search of insect larvae.” ~R.B.

A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.”
~ John A. Shedd

The above quote is from an article by Jeff Dunn called “Sailing in Deep Waters”

It is well worth the read and really encouraged me in what God was speaking to me. Following is a small excerpt from his post:

“Deep waters are very scary. It is where you are miles–maybe hundreds of miles–from the nearest shore. The waves in the deep are huge, taller than buildings, taller than the ship you are riding in. The waves here are violent beyond description, hurling water like a landslide down upon you in your boat. It makes no sense to travel into the deep. It is not safe. Everything you have ever learned or heard or thought was right will scream at you that you are nuts to be away from the safe harbor.”

Am I nuts to be away from the safe harbor? My children love this quote and often remind me of it…

“Tomorrow’s mighty oak is just today’s nut that held its ground.”~Unknown

Another word of wisdom… this time from Oswald Chambers

“Determine to know more than others. If you do not cut the moorings, God will have to break them by a storm and send you out. Launch all on God, go out on the great swelling tide of His purpose, and you will get your eyes open. If you believe in Jesus, you are not to spend all your time in the smooth waters just inside the harbor bar, full of delight, but always moored; you have to get out through the harbor bar into the great deeps of God and begin to know for yourself, begin to have spiritual discernment.”

Come out and be a nut with me and let’s bury ourselves in the great deeps of God. Let’s surrender our lives completely to our Savior… allow Him to take you through the storm. No holding back…Look deeply into His eyes and see the calm and peace, and keep your focus on Him for He is in control and He stands at the helm.

The Man at the Tiller 1892 by Theo Van Rysselberghe

Think of your trials as tempests out at sea and know that the great I AM has the tiller and He is calm and He is in control!

