Yesterday’s Grief ~ Continuing Thankfulness

I love the way poets and writers are able to paint pictures with words. A dear friend of mine wrote these words in an email the other day…

“I am going now to a nearby lake to pray and study The Word of God! I love the golden carpet (leaves on the ground) the LORD has laid out for me to sit on as I learn from Him today!”

I could just visualize this beautiful scene…the lake…a carpet of golden aspen leaves freshly fallen from the trees…the figure of a child of God sitting in prayer with the Bible opened in her lap…how exquisite…

Which brings me to this beautiful poem I read this morning…

 
Yesterday’s Grief ~ Katherine Lee Bates
The rain that fell a-yesterday is ruby on the roses,
Silver on the poplar leaf, and gold on willow stem;
The grief that chanced a-yesterday is silence that incloses
Holy loves when time and change shall never trouble them.
 
The rain that fell a-yesterday makes all the hillsides glisten,
Coral on the laurel and beryl on the grass;
The grief that chanced a-yesterday as taught the soul to listen
For whispers of eternity in all the winds that pass.
 
O faint-of-heart, storm-beaten, this rain will gleam tomorrow,
Flame within the columbine and jewels on the thorn,
Heaven is the forget-me-not; though sorrow now be sorrow,
Yet sorrow shall be beauty in the magic of the morn.
691 Dear friends
692 Expressing beauty
693 Yesterday’s grief
694 Words painting pictures in our minds
695 Glistening raindrop magnifying colors
696 Sorrow turning to beauty
697 Beauty from ashes
698 All the brilliant colors from God’s paintbrush
699 Creativity ~ a gift from the Creator
700 Newness every morning
