Shadows of Things to Come ~ Gratitude

I have really been intrigued with shadows of late…
In my paintings they stream across pathways and under bushes…
I’ve also realized that when I’m out walking in the early morning with the sun behind me, I am never alone, because there before me or beside me is my shadow. I like my shadow. It looks healthy and vibrant as it bounces along beside me.
It reminds me too that I really, truly am never alone, because Yahshua is always with me.Walking at the lake this morning was so absolutely gorgeous. It was early just before sunrise, and there was a mist enshrouding the water…
A flock of Canadian geese were leisurely floating atop the water through the mist…further on down the shore as the sun began to glow above the horizon, small white beaked ducks were huddled together along the shoreline. I thought at first that they were  Canadian gosslings, but looking closer I noticed their white beaks and come to find out they are possibly American coots…
Now the sun has risen higher and an orange glow gleams across the water. The sunlight streams through the trees with a golden sheen lighting up the dew on the grass like diamonds scattered in all directions. The shadows darken,  in contrast to the brightening hues of light.
A lone Heron sitting on a rock out at the distant  point that juts  into the lake is waiting… watching over the light blue water that reflects the color of the sky.
Two fishermen in a small boat are also watching and waiting, silouetted against the glowing orange, now turning yellow, of the rising sun.
I praise God for the gift of seeing all this beauty before me, for the gift of hearing the beautiful sounds of the birds twittering their songs of the morning… of the geese honking and taking off in flight…
And then a wonderful scent wafts towards me…ginger?  I immediately think of ginger bagels and hot coffee…And again I praise Yahweh for the gift of smell and the gift of taste.

Shadows of things to come…this morning was so heavenly and yet we are promised an eternal life so much more magnificent than anything we can experience here…this morning was just a shadow of things to come

Photo of sunrise by Anna

Gratitude 901-915

