Where No Water Is…

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee:
My soul thirsteth for thee, My flesh longeth for thee
In a dry and thirsty land,
Where no water is

I came across this photo the other day. Whoever posted it was talking about how important it is to drink water – hydration. I had just returned from a trip to see my brother who has been undergoing chemo and he was so dehydrated. I kept telling him over and over how important it was for him to drink water.

But that’s not all…the man in this photo resembles my brother. In a long ago time before this cancer got a hold of him, my brother could have been the model.

This morning as I read this scripture, the memory of the photo popped once again into my head. I love this verse. There are times in my life where I have felt this way spiritually… longing for Living Water…

And what is so amazing about this scripture is that the water is here in the verses following…

To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.  Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.  Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name.  My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips:  When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.  Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.  My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.  ~ Psalms 63: 1-8

Have you been in a desert place?  Are you in need of hydration? Have you lifted up your hands and praised your heavenly Father today? Have you drunk in the Living Water of His Word? Are you following hard after Him and dwelling in His Presence?

