The Great and Terrible Day

“And Yahweh shall utter His voice before His army; for His camp is very great: for He is strong that executeth His word; for the day of Yahweh is great and very terrible; and who can abide it?” ~ Joel 2:11

Every time I think about writing something to post here on Words of Life, I find that I can’t, because everything just seems too trivial for the times we are living in. Every time I read my Bible, I weep, no matter where I am reading. I found myself weeping for Joseph the other morning, because he was cast into prison falsely accused. I find myself thinking of how many people today are falsely accused and put in jail; many here in this country and other countries suffering persecution for believing in God’s Holy Word. Yes, in this country. What is unbelievably sad to me is how those who call themselves Christians devour each other over man-made doctrinal differences.

Joel goes on to prophecy…” Therefore also now, saith Yahweh, Turn ye even to me with all your heart, and with fasting and with weeping and with mourning: and rend your heart, and your garments, and turn unto Yahweh your Elohim: for He is gracious, and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness and it grieves Him of the evil. Who knows if He will return and relent and leave a blessing behind Him: that ye may offer a meat-offering and a drink offering unto Yahweh your Elohim?” ~ Joel 2:12-15

We know there will be a time of great mourning and weeping for the Word promises…”He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4

Jesus says, “Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?” Luke 18:8

harvestsickle

Reaping the Harvest by Nathan Greene

Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded. Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.” ~ James 4:8-10

