Oklahoma Tornado

My son and his family live in Moore…He is a horse trainer, and his wife is a vet. They have two adorable children, of course.

The sky was dark, the thunder was rumbling…We knew the tornado was coming. KFOR had great live coverage and we could see the path the storm was taking. A text came in…my son asking for prayer for the children who were at the baby-sitters. As the tornado veered closer to where they live…a hundred thoughts passed through my mind…”Oh, Father, have mercy. Protect my grandchildren, my son, my daughter-in-law and all the other people out there in the path of this immense destruction.”

In my mind I could see my grandson…the last time they visited…Would that be the very last time?

IMG_7770

Another text…my son had both children in their storm shelter. His wife was safe up north of the storm. I sighed in relief, knowing that it still could turn out badly.  Continuing to pray…we watched as the helicopter showed live coverage.

The tornado passed by about 1/2 mile from my son’s house. Their house was spared and their lives were spared. I am exceedingly thankful. My heart goes out to all those who have lost love ones in this tragic devastation.

Later I talked to my son on the phone. He told me he picked both children up at the baby-sitters and rushed to his home, drove right up to the storm shelter, grabbed the 3 month old in her car seat and took her down in the shelter and ran back for the 2 year old. When he got him down there, he realized there were no supplies in there, so he said to his son….” Take care of sister, I’ll be right back”.  He ran into the house and got a sleeping bag, a flash light, some water and the diaper bag and when he walked into the dark shelter…little brother was patting and kissing little sister on the head saying, ” It’s OK, Sister, Daddy will be right back.”

Heavenly Father, I thank you for your mercies. Please have mercy on those who have lost everything they have. Like Job, Father, restore two-fold what was lost. Save those that are lost spiritually, that they may know your salvation through Jesus, your son. Draw them close to you. May your grace be upon those who are grieving. I am confident that You are faithful and hear all the prayers that have gone out for these people. Amen.

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

