Shadow of the Almighty

As I kneeled before God early in the morning, I prayed that He would guide me to a scripture that would speak to me.  When I opened my Bible the pages revealed to me were the “CONCORDANCE of the Old and New Testaments”. A little disappointed  I thought for a moment, “Well, so much for that prayer…”, but immediately after my fleshly thought, the idea came to mind of starting with A and daily reading the passage that was listed. Every day since then something has popped out of the scripture and spoken to me in a very special way.

I’ve decided to share those nuggets here, just in case something speaks to anyone who reads it here, and I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Beginning with the word ABIDE…

Psalms 91
I love this Psalms. I have memorized it and it has blessed me many times. The words that stuck out to me this morning were in the very first verse…”the shadow of the Almighty“.

I love shadows… my name here on this blog is shadowlilies…the phrase “shadows of things to come” Colossians 2:17  has always been a meditation of my heart. Long ago I even gave one of my children the middle name of Moonshadow. But that’s another story in itself… : )

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty“… Psalms 91:1

What does the shadow of the Almighty look like?

I know what my shadow looks like…

reflect

If my child was to constantly walk beside me in my literal shadow, he or she would have to be watching and make sure that he was always walking very close to me.

Is that what this abiding means? To be watchful and make sure we are drawing close to God at all times.

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” James 4:8

Here James tells us just how to do that. Cleanse our hands and purify our hearts, and we do that through repentence.

I am in awe at the immensity of the shadow of the Almighty. It has to be immense because He is immense, all-knowing, all-powerful…What a safe place to dwell in His mercy, in His compassion, in His wisdom, in His grace, in His forgiveness, in His love, in His Holy Spirit, in Christ our Savior…

I will meditate on His shadow often, for that is the place that I wish to dwell…how about you?

Oh…and it is a secret place…

Not everyone can abide there…

Jesus said unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man comes unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:6

Jesus is not a secret, but coming to Him and believing in the only begotten Son of God as your savior, repenting of your sins and acknowledging His lordship of your life is the secret way and only way to abide in the Almighty.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.” John 15:4

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

Jesus is the Way to abide in the shadow of the Almighty…
Draw close to Him…Abide in Christ…

Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.” 1 John 4:15

