Here By the Water ~ Steve Bell

SteveBellMusicianPhoto – Wikipedia

I have been enjoying the music and lyrics of Steve Bell, Canadian musician.

The chorus of this particular song speaks out to me…

“And here by the water
I’ll build an altar to praise Him
Out of the stones that I’ve found here
I’ll set them down here
Rough as they are
Knowing You can make them holy”

I think of we Christians as being rough stones, built up to be a spiritual house.

Ye also, as lively stones, are built up a spiritual house, an holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices, acceptable to God by Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 2:5

Over the years I’ve been disappointed with myself and other Christians that I am not what I perceive to be “holier”, and neither are they. What this chorus cries out to me is that only God can make us holy. We all have this fleshly body, this rough stone, but the Holy Spirit dwells in us and He is Holy. This gives me so much more grace for myself and my brothers and sisters in Christ. We are acceptable to God by Jesus Christ…so let’s accept each other with grace and mercy and love for one another.

Here by the Water
Music and Lyric by Jim Croegaert
© 1986 Rough Stones Music

Soft field of clover
Moon shining over the valley
Joining the song of the river
To the great giver of the great good

As it enfolds me
Somehow it holds me together
I realize I’ve been singing
Still it comes ringing
Clearer than clear

And here by the water
I’ll build an altar to praise Him
Out of the stones that I’ve found here
I’ll set them down here
Rough as they are
Knowing You can make them holy
Knowing You can make them holy
Knowing You can make them holy

I think how a yearning
Has kept on returning to move me
Down roads I’d never have chosen
Half the time frozen
Too numb to feel
I know it was stormy
I hope it was for me learning
Blood on the road wasn’t mine though
Someone that I know
Has walked here before

