A Perception of the Heart

“But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descendeth not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work.” ~ James 3:14-15

This morning I had a dream just before I awoke, and I have been trying so hard to remember the simple truth that was spoken that I have forgotten what the dream was about, in fact, I can’t remember exactly the phrase, but it went something like this…

It is a perception of the heart

tumblr_l7zrcnFOFl1qd16k0

This stencil grafiti is on a wall in the South Bank of London by  artist Banksy.  A few days ago this is how I perceived life, like this little girl, LOVE  out of reach floating away with her back turned from HOPE.

How I got to this place is a mystery to me. I’m sure it began months ago. A little bit of hurt here…a little disappointment there…many unanswered prayers for dear Christian friends in dire circumstances…concern for my children and grand-children in a world falling apart…

Two days ago I confessed to my closest brother in Christ, my husband, that I think I have bitter envying and strife in my heart. It was a little bit of an unreal realization to me. I thought I had dealt with this a long, long time ago in the far distant past, but here it was again.

“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” ~ James 5:16

My close friend and brother in Christ said to me…”You need to repent.”  James says that bitter envying and strife is earthly sensual devilish. I confessed and repented…he prayed for me. And I have been healed, just as the scripture says.

Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.” ~ John 17:17

To prevent this I should have been diligent as it says in Hebrews…

“Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled;” ~ Hebrews 12:15

It can creep up on you suddenly…I had no idea that a root of bitterness was growing up in me.

Back to my dream…this morning when I woke up, everything was bathed in the LOVE of Christ. Just like putting on rose-colored glasses…

through-rose-colored-glasses

Whereas a few days ago, I was so angry with the government, the lies and deception, the corruption, the media,  the unjustness, the unfairness, the sinister evil abounding…evil accounted as good and good as evil…

Today, I feel compassion, as if every evil is bathed in the LOVE of Christ and God knows and it’s all going to be OK, because ALL THINGS work out for good, to those who are the called according to His purpose.  I confess that I couldn’t see this two days ago…but now I see.

It is a perception of the heart…if our heart has bitterness, resentment, envying and strife, our whole world view is colored by it and we question the sovereignty of our Almighty Father God and that is a terrible place to be. Freed from bitterness, resentment, envying and strife through the blood of Christ brings love, contentment, peace, hope, and understanding. When we see life through Christ’s LOVE, our perception changes…it is a miracle.

Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you?  Let him shew out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom. But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descends not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace. ~ James 3:13-18

It is a perception of the heart.

 

