Arise, Get Up and Go To the Potter’s House…

I have a great lesson to teach you there…

I went down to the potter’s house…in the center stood a large wheel and all around there were shelves with clay pots …some were drying…some were already finished glazed and decorated with the finest designs and hues of glazes. Near the wheel stood a large container filled with water and a small table laden with the tools that the potter used to create his masterpieces…

The potter sat with a peaceful, but intense look on his face as he molded the clay on the wheel before him. Round and round the wheel spun guided by the foot of the potter as he pressed on the lever below…spinning the wheel at the exact momentum to attain his desired result…

But as skilled as he was the pot was marred…Down came his strong hand upon the top of the imperfect vessel…smashing it back into a lump of formless clay on the wheel and again he began the process of centering the clay in the middle of the wheel and forming a new vessel that would please his eye…

I love this story from Jeremiah …I love visualizing the potter, his wheel, the clay, the pots all around, the smell of earth…Oh, how God loves us… Oh, how He formed each one of us… Oh, how He wants the very best for us…and we would not…

“Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter?” saith the LORD. “Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel. At what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a kingdom, to pluck up, and to pull down, and to destroy it; If that nation, against whom I have pronounced, turn from their evil, I will repent of the evil that I thought to do unto them. And at what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a kingdom, to build and to plant it; If it do evil in my sight, that it obey not my voice, then I will repent of the good, wherewith I said I would benefit them. Now therefore go to, speak to the men of Judah, and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, saying, Thus saith the LORD; Behold, I frame evil against you, and devise a device against you: return ye now everyone from his evil way, and make your ways and your doings good. And they said, “There is no hope: but we will walk after our own devices, and we will every one do the imagination of his evil heart.”

We may think that it was just Israel of old that refused to obey Yahweh, but if we are honest with ourselves each one of us is stubborn and hard-hearted, like a lump of clay refusing to be formed by the Master’s hand.

But what our Father is saying here is that a potter can make a new vessel…the clay does not fight with him and refuse to be formed, but we do, and therefore our Father’s recourse is to bring us into submission by chastisement.

He chastises us because He loves us.  But how much better it is to submit…

Not My Will 
by Sarah Naylor
 
A hard lump of clay, as cold as a stone
Lay upon a Potter’s wheel
It wouldn’t yield, it wouldn’t mold,
Just sat there with stubborn will.
 
But the patient hands worked without pause
Wetting the clay with water,
And slowly, so slowly, it began to break down
Giving into the Potter.
 
From that moment on a shape took form
Not just a lump of clay,
And if that mud could talk to you
You would have heard it say…
 
Chorus –
 
Not my will, but yours alone
I surrender my life to you.
Not my will but yours be done
Mold me for your use.
 
That hard lump of clay so stubborn was me
Yet the potter never let me go.
He softened me with his kindness and grace
Molding me with his love
And by the time he was finished
I said with all my heart…
 
Chorus –
 
Not my will, but yours alone
I surrender my life to you.
Not my will but yours be done
Mold me for your use.
 

Quoting Ray Stedman here from The Potter and the Clay

“And this is true of our individual lives. If some hard circumstance comes into your life — and it may be there right now, or it may be just around the corner, or you may just have passed through it — that circumstance is the wheel of God, to bring you against the pressure of the Potter’s hand. If you do not resist, if your will does not spoil the work by murmuring, grumbling, or complaining, or feeling resentful and bitter, but you accept the working of the Potter, then the pressure is relieved, and the vessel takes shape. But if there is resistance, if the human will, like some imperfection in the clay, chooses something other than the Potter has in mind, then the Potter can do nothing else but crush it down to a lump once again and, beginning with the same lump, make it over into a vessel which suits his heart and mind. The great lesson Jeremiah learned at the potter’s house was that of the sovereign control of God. He is the potter, and we are the clay.”

John produced an inspiring video “Molded By the Master’s Hand”.  Here is the trailer…

A Glimspe of “Molded by the Masters Hand” from John Naylor on Vimeo.

To order the video you may contact John Naylor, or leave a comment.

Sarah’s song “Not My Will” posted above is on the video as well, featuring Sarah’s beautiful voice accompanied by the

Naylor Family Band

 

